Patience is a Virtue

Patience.  I have a confession. I am not the most patient person.  I try hard not to let it show, but I know that it does.  My impatience can affect my mood at home with my family and at work with my coworkers and it is something I need to commit to work on.

I know in the grand scheme of things most of the issues that might frustrate me are not a big deal.  What bothers me one day, might not the next.  Once I realized this, I realized I can be in control of my reactions, and need to work to be more patient.  Having patience will not only improve my mood, but reduce my stress and likely make the people around me a heck of a lot more patient,

I spent some time figuring out my triggers and I know that being interrupted when I am deep in thought or trying to work through something difficult was one of the most common things that made me feel short on patience.  Another is having to wait for something.  I am now trying not to react, both at home and at work when this happens.  Just being aware has helped some.

The first thing I try to do when I feel myself frustrated and I patient is to take a breath.  Sometimes one good, deep breath is all it takes to calm me.  The next step is to not respond too quickly.  Taking a moment to formulate my thoughts helps me not respond in a negative way.  Slow down.  Doing this helps me feel and appear calm, which with practice, will hopefully become easier everyday.  Because I still have my moments!

I want to do this for me, but also for the people around me each day.  I want to leave them feeling good, and as though I care, not as though I feel they aren’t worth my time, because they so are. So I will practice patience everyday until it becomes completely natural.  Wish me luck!

image

Leave a Reply

